Seasonal Limbo

Hebrew scriptures talk of a place called Sheol. According to Wikipedia “It is a place of darkness to which all the dead go, both the righteous and the unrighteous, regardless of the moral choices made in life, a place of stillness and darkness cut off from life”. Alright, things aren’t that bad I’ll grant you, although I did pass through Doncaster twice yesterday.

Still, I do find myself in a state of seasonal Limbo. Which season is it right now? I’m really not sure. There are still some autumnal colours around but it’s pushing it a bit to claim that mid-November is autumn. Technically it should be winter but it feels too warm. Where are the crisp, cold days, with our without the low winter sunshine? I was in London on Hallowe’en and it was actually hot; I was cursing not wearing shorts. We definitely had a summer in the UK this year but rather than a distinct autumn we seemed to have an extended late summer instead, and now the climate doesn’t seem to know quite what to do with itself and is just kicking around in the fog and mist while it wonders what to do next. I have enjoyed the fog, it made even the flat and uninspiring East Yorkshire countryside seem mysterious and enchanted, but given that I am all geared up and expectant for another winter of wood fires, candles and hearty eating and drinking, this is not what I need to get me in the winter mood. It’s the annual Scandinavian Julefest in Sheffield in three weeks time and at this rate I’ll be going in a tee-shirt.

We did manage a proper bonfire night with friends and neighbours though, with fireworks, Yorkshire parkin, mulled apple juice and wine. I just need it to get cold.

This captures  how I feel at the moment, a sesaonal song about looking ahead to something new

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment